Sign in to follow this  
klineelectric

just ordered nv3500 sl cargo are these things tough enough for constuction sites

After alot of research I just ordered the 3500SL cargo. I am an electrical contractor doing new residential construction. I carry alot of wire, tools ladders etc. I am hoping this is the right purchase for my needs. I should be getting the van in about 3 months (their estimation).I currently drive a 2000 E 350 extended. Its been a good van and still drives and runs fine but it is 17 yrs old with 260000miles. I also have a 2015 transit but I'm not happy with the uni-body and overall "toughness" of the suspension and driveline. Time will tell as I will keep this as I will keep this for my employees. I am wondering if you guys think tis Nissan will hold up and be a good van for my needs.  Thanks  Mike

Welcome and don't worry about typos. We all make them. You can go back anytime to correct them. Just hit edit...

Nissan did a promo video on small delivery service in Phoenix, Above and Beyond. At the time they had 500k on one of their vans. We see them in northern AZ.

Similar to your E350, your NV is a truck, a tough truck that is a great chassis for passenger vans that tow or not and conversions. You probably will not complain about mpg given how you will use it.

Just out of curiosity, how does your Transit mpg compare with your E350? Also, why an SL?

My e-350 gets about 10 mpg the transit averages 16mpg. Hopefully with the NV's 7 speed trans I'll be close to the transit mpg with the e-350 durability. I just ordered it Friday so I wont know for 3 months or so. I'm already antsy. As for getting the SL , I will be keeping this van for a long time and figured the chrome would wear and look better longer.

Edited by klineelectric