NoMoss

Advanced 4x4 vs Tim Dahle Nissan all Nissan parts conversion

Hey everybody, new Montana member here. Lookin to buy a new NV cargo for my retirement adventures and considering going with the Advanced 4x4 conversion or the Tim Dahle Nissan conversion which uses all Titan XD parts so it's Nissan from end to end. I'm new to this game so I would appreciate any and all advice from more experienced off roaders. I'm not really looking for a serious rock crawler, just something that can reliably get me into the places I want to go. Would really love your input on drivability, off road worthiness, reliability and anything else I should know before spending 60k on a van I've never driven. Thanks in advance.

John 

Welcome.

First thing to do is scroll down to “New 4x4 owner” then check out posts regarding Advanced and Quigley.

The consensus regarding the basic NV is that it is one tough truck. Few issues to worry about and an excellent warranty. Even those of us who took a chance on new 2012-13 NVs with a 36k warranty have had little to complain about.

One issue to consider is the scarcity of NV commercial dealerships particularly in the west.

Thanks for the info. I will check that out. Yeah I've found a few dealerships within 500 miles or so, just need to make an informed decision on which conversion to go with. I've heard the Quigley is more designed for off roading and doesn't feel so good on highways. Leaning towards the all Nissan conversion on the 3500.

Advanced has been converting 2017-18 NVs (new engine and transmission) for quite awhile. Quigley delayed converting these years until just recently. Why? The main question about the all Titan conversion is how many have been built. Then there is quality and reliability.

Read KMG’s posts. He no longer has his Quigley NV, but he drove his from Missouri to the northwest and back. There are Advanced owners as well. Many no longer post, but may respond to a PM.

Good luck on your search.

Edited by radin2son