Sign in to follow this  
Nvdad81

Sloppy steering?

I absolutely love my new nv passenger. Everything about it is better then I thought except one thing. It has taken me a little while to figure out that there is something wrong with the steering. it feels as if the steering doesn't want to correct unless I make a big correction then it seems to want to start going the other way. And if there is wind it feels like I'm swaying back and forth like a drunk person.

Is this normal? Is the nv a sloppy driving vehicle? Or did I get one that has something wrong? I can't tell if it's a problem with the steering or if it's an alignment problem.

I'm not going to say I'm an amazing driver but I have never had this much difficulty keeping a vehicle tracking straight. I've driven many different vehicles in my life from compact cars to cube vans and this is probably the worst. I really hope it's somethin that can be fixed. My wife feels the same way when she drives it so I know it's not just me.

I'm going to contact my dealer tomorrow about it.

That's a new one. I would say ours is very easy to steer and keep straight.

Even with psi way off, NVs track well. Low and high roof NVs catch a lot of cross wind, but get right back on track. Agree that this is a new one...

I'd also have to say it's a very well steering and stable van for its size. Maybe go test drive a different van to compare? Let us know...!

Ours pulled right consistently when we got it. The dealer realigned it twice and it is better, but still seems pretty sloppy to me compared to our other vehicles. When they were aligning our van, I test drove another new one and it pulled right also.

No issues with mine and I've driven a lot of vehicles.  I would get the alignment looked at by your dealer.  The steering isnt as precise as a car but it is as good as any large vehicle I have driven.