istich27

Help! I am new to this (NV 3500 SL) towing a Huge Trailer?

Hello everyone, totally new here, and I really need your help. I am looking to buy an NV 3500 SL and tow a Keystone Bullet 330BH. Dry weigh is 7000, fully loaded is 8,600. Is it possible or am I gonna kill the NV? Thoughts, Experience, Ideas Welcome 

Thanks a Bunch,

Ian

Check Cargo, Hauling & Towing to get a general idea what you can tow and what you need to tow safely. You also should check Introduce Yourself... for posts asking the same question.

Edited by radin2son

I already checked. Towing Capacity is 8700 but that leaves 100lbs for room. Thats what I'm really asking I guess

Are you new to towing?  Maxing out specs is not a great way to introduce yourself to towing anything.

You need to look at combined weight of Camper and NV - cant be over 16,000 lbs for both.

Can the NV tow that camper?  Yes.  Provided you dont overload anything - rear axle, total weight, payoad of NV, etc...

It all depends on your NV honestly.  We dont know anything about you, your family or what it will be loaded with.  Do you have no kids?  9 kids?  Lots of "stuff" or pets?  I assume you at least a couple kids looking at a bunkhouse camper.

Every pound you add to the NV takes away that much towing capacity for the camper.  If you have 500 lbs of kids then remove 500 lbs from your towing capacity.  

If you travel light and dont load the camper up too much (most people pack around 1000 lbs of "stuff" in a camper, it adds up quickly!), get a really good WDH hitch and brake controller AND set them both up properly (dont rely on dealer to do it right) then - Yes - you should be really close to being able to tow that camper.

Every pound you add to the NV takes away that much towing capacity for the camper.  If you have 500 lbs of kids then remove 500 lbs from your towing capacity.